Amish Sweethearts

25837471They gave up on each other sometime ago. Or so they had convinced themselves. When Zane Beck returns to sleepy Lancaster County he encounters his old, Amish sweetheart, Lila Lehman. And it’s obvious nether one ever quite let go of the other. But they come from two different worlds and Zane has since joined the military. Anything that may at one time had been a possibility is now out of the question. And Lila’s quiet and steady beau is getting impatient for her to say “yes” to his proposals. When Zane is sent to Afghanistan he tries to keep casual communication up with Lila. When disaster strikes, the two must decide what they intend to do with their futures.

Once upon a time I had an interest in Amish stories. I flat out devoured those types of books. But I’ve gotten past that phase since then. When I saw an acquaintance reading something by this author, I thought, what the heck, give it ago. So here I am. While this wasn’t a bad book, it wasn’t a great book either. I couldn’t quite get into the charters or bring myself to care about any of them. I’m sure that readers who enjoy Amish stories will love it, but for me – well, I can definitely say no more Amish stories for me.

DISCLAIMER: In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising” we would like to note that we received a copy of “Amish Sweethearts” provided by the publishers, Bethany House, in exchange for our honest review.

What's on Your Mind?