Glittering Promises

Glitterng PromisesIf anyone has their troubles it’s Cora Diehl Kensington. Between the threat of kidnapping and quarreling with her father over rights to a mine, the future isn’t boding so well for Cora and Will, her fiancee. And a former suitor’s incessant tampering with hers and Will’s emotions doesn’t help matters. When her father Wallace Kensington at last relinquishes controlling interest in a mine to Cora it brings a mire of trouble on her head. A jealous and greedy brother-in-law to be, a suitor who can’t take no for an answer and a possible rival in the form of an Italian countess are just a few of the characters encountered by Cora on her journey across Italy. This is one story you won’t want to miss.

Whoo! Where to begin? Glittering Promises was an amazing book. I’ll say one thing – it doesn’t lack for intrigue. Something like Lois Leppard’s Mandie series, but for more mature readers. One of the main things that grabbed my attention is the story setting. Grand Tour. Edwardian Era. And the RMS Olympic had a spot in this story, no less! In my book, Lisa Bergren gets extra points for allowing Titanic’s elder sister to have a part in the story and also for mentioning Margaret Brown, of Titanic fame.

The narrative was quite unconventional. When I realized the narration would alternate between first person (Cora) and third person (William and Wallace) I was certain I would hate it. But Ms. Bergren did such a great job that I found I rather liked it. A great tale with well-developed characters. Sad to know this is the last book in the series.

I would like to note that this is the third book in The Grand Tour series and I had not read the first two prior to Glittering Promises. As a result it took me the first 30 pages to understand who was who and the back story. Yeah, yeah. What person in the right mind reads a series from last to first? This isn’t the first time I’ve done this and I doubt it will be my last.

DISCLAIMER: In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising” we would like to note that we received an electronic copy of “Glittering Promises” from NetGalley.com provided by the publishers, David C. Cook, in exchange for our honest review.

10 thoughts on “Glittering Promises

    • Thank you, Debbie! 🙂

      That would be great if there was. The first two books in the series arrived today – quite giddy, but I have refrained from just taking one little peak into them since I have to catch up on some other reviews! It is so easy to get drawn into a really good book and not stop.

What's on Your Mind?