My Brother’s Crown

My Brother's CrownLate seventeenth-century France is not a good time to be a Huguenot. The Gilletts know this firsthand. But in spite of it they stand fast in their faith even as darkness descends upon their lives. For Catherine Gillett it is probably a little more difficult. While she wishes to save her family her brother continues to grow his business. And there’s a very dark rumor surrounding his business that sends Catherine into a wave of thoughts that threaten to drown her.

In between life and it’s unexpected turns this book took a backburner. What an ill-thought decision. This is a book I should have read on day one. It was AMAZING. I really didn’t have high hopes for it but in order to branch out into contemporary fiction I thought I’d give it a go. I just wished it had been tackled sooner! I love the alternating narratives, but with – wait for it – the contemporary version being my favorite. If there’s a sequel (there had better be) that sucker is getting read as soon as it hits the shelves. The ending was kind-of/kind-of-not a cliffhanger and I’m really eager to follow these characters onto the next stage of their journey. I really don;’t know what else to say, except that it was perfect. The characters were not perfect, but they weren’t flat out complete messes either. A really really good story!

DISCLAIMER: In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising” we would like to note that we received an electronic copy of “My Brother’s Crown” provided by the publishers, Harvest House, in exchange for our honest review.

What's on Your Mind?

