Go Set a Watchman

Go Set a WatchmanJean Louise Finch is all grown up and blazing her trail of success in life. She thinks she’s got things figured out (for the most part) and is very much sure of herself. But on a return visit home she soon finds herself embroiled in questions of honor and race. People she thought she knew so well turn out to be anything but and it’s up to her to figure out what kind of stand she will take.

How does one say this? Mm. Go Set a Watchman was NOT what I was expecting even after hearing what others were saying about it. For one Scout, or rather Jean Louise, has developed a very bad potty mouth. Very bad. She ends up being a little bit lost in the world and her ideals have been completely shattered. Characters I had come to love in To Kill a Mockingbird completely blow me away with shock, while others I thought I would hate grow on me. It is one mixed up story. The harsh realities are life are prevalent throughout the story, which is all well and good, but through most of it I felt almost a sense of resignation – like no one was getting anywhere, and things just weren’t going to improve. Not exactly the kind of story I like. I have read some stories that were downright sad, depressing and without a happy ending but they were very skillful done, whereas Scout is much like me in that she’s all over the place with her life. It’s not a bad story, but it’s not too great either.

DISCLAIMER: In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising” we would like to note that we did not receive any compensation for our review of “Go Set a Watchman”.

2 thoughts on “Go Set a Watchman

  1. Interesting take on Go Set a Watchman. I’ve been slightly intrigued with a desire to read it, but not so sure now. I haven’t even read To Kill a Mockingbird yet. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts about this one!

    • I really don’t recommend it. It’s really harsh and not in a beneficial way. It’s predecessor is much better. Hope you get to read it! Would love to hear what you think about it.

What's on Your Mind?

