Dauntless

DauntlessLady Merry is dead or so everyone has been led to believe. Massacred with her entire family and village by the king’s men for rebellious ideas. But deep in the forest “ghosts” are at work. They steal quietly into villages and take items needed. But they would seem to have taken a step too far when they steal a gold shipment belonging to the king. The situation grows more intense and at the root of it all is dead Lady Merry Ellison, seemingly alive and well.

Dina L. Sleiman is a new favorite author. If she turns out more titles half as good as Dauntless she’ll be listed in my top 10 favorites.

Medieval Period was at one time one of my favorite period for stories to be set in. But then I wandered into the Tudors, the Georgian Period before getting stuck in a very long rut of the American Civil War. It’s been awhile since I have read of knights, ladies, thieves and superstitions. Dauntless was just the book to reignite my interest in such stories and the author did so skillfully. It was like reading of a female Robin Hood, though Merry’s task was perhaps somewhat more admirable. On the outset I had my misgivings but as soon as the book was opened and the first page read I was so engrossed I stayed up late trying to finish the book. Nerd that I am, I did just that and finished story in one sitting. I have no regrets! (Though the dark circles under my eyes say otherwise.) So if you are even remotely considering this book, go for it. There was some sections I skimmed over but in the end it’s a great story.

DISCLAIMER: In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising” we would like to note that we received a hardcopy of “Dauntless”  provided by the publishers, Bethany  House, in exchange for our honest review.

What's on Your Mind?

