Arsene Lupin

Arsene LupinA cheeky thief. A spoiled lady. A quiet assistant. A divided suitor.

A riot of characters come together to create a most unusual assembly that most solve the mystery of Arsene Lupin and his brilliantly executed plans that leave many a minds boggled.

I have heard a lot about Arsene Lupin but never read any of Maurice Leblanc’s famed stories. Once upon a time I had a spare time and no ARCs to read (that’s one for the books!) and decided it was time to chase down Lupin and see what all of the fuss was about. Annnnnnndddddddddd, having read the first book in the story I must say I still don’t know what it is all about! While the story was indeed clever I had my suspicions very early on and everyone here knows I like a story that keeps me guessing. The writing – I feel – was not very well-crafted either. Plenty of dialogue and such. Perhaps I am trying to hard to hold Leblanc and Lupin up to Arthur Conan Doyle’s writing style and Sherlock Holmes and it just can’t be done since they are all very unique in their own ways. Whatever the reasons I can’t say that I was very thrilled with the story. Not bummed enough to give up reading all of the Lupin stories just not anytime soon.

DISCLAIMER: In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising” we would like to note that we did not receive any compensation for our review of “Arsene Lupin”.

What's on Your Mind?

