The Brickmaker’s Bride

The Brickmaker's BrideLaura Woodfield is living in a world far different from the one she grew up in. With her father dead and the States attempting to recover in the wake of the Civil War Laura and her mother need to make wise decisions. And seeking the family brickyard is logical. Enter Ewan McKay. Scotch-Irish Ewan wants the new-found business venture with his spendthrift uncle to succeed for more reasons than one. If successful he can finally bring his sisters over from Ireland. But as he encounters obstacles at every turn he may have to do a little relying on Laura despite his aunt and uncle’s dislike of the woman.

Oi. For me pulling through this book was shear torture. I just couldn’t get into the plot although I wish I could have.  A large part that turned me off almost on the outset was the need for the characters to explain historical facts to the reader that I was ready to burst into tears. While it is true I love history I like to have it seamlessly weaved into the story like it is something natural. This was not so with The Brickmaker’s Bride. Another qualm was the slowness. The story moved very slowly and I found myself continually looking down at the page number of my Nook to see how much progress was to be made before the end. Aaaaa! Suffice it to say this was not a favorite.

DISCLAIMER: In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising” we would like to note that we received an electronic copy of “The Brickmaker’s Bride”  provided by the publishers, Bethany House, through Netgalley.com in exchange for our honest review.

What's on Your Mind?

