Thief of Glory

Thief of GloryOne boy to protect a frail family in the middle of a Japanese concentration camp. It seems to be impossible but Jeremiah Prins has determined he will stand in his father’s stead to care for his mentally frail mother and host of siblings. It’s a task a grown man would find taxing; for Jeremiah the life of oppression eats away at his childhood setting into motion a series of events that will change the lives of so many people.

Sigmund Brouwer. An author I’ve heard so much about but whose works I never really considered venturing into. And for good reason: His works seemed dark. Gosh. Was I wrong. Brouwer is an amazing writer. He can take history and spin a tale of endurance, heartache and hope. I have never read a book quite like Thief of Glory. I sat down one night decided I’d read a few chapters before doing some writing of my own…yeah. it didn’t happen. I was so engrossed in Thief of Glory I couldn’t put it down until early morning hours had arrived. Did I mention I had to be at work early the next morning?!  His story has a dumfounding quality to it, in both prose and plot. I didn’t get the happy ending I wanted. I got something that could have passed for a real life story (and yes  it is based on a true story). One of the best books published in the decade.

DISCLAIMER: In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising” we would like to note that we received an hardcopy of “Thief of Glory” from Blogging for Books in exchange for our honest review.

6 thoughts on “Thief of Glory

    • It’s an awesome book. 🙂 I had my doubts at first. Reading stories about children isn’t usually something I trail into unless it’s nonfiction history but this was very well done.

What's on Your Mind?

