A Lady at Willowgrove Hall

A Lady at Willowgrove HallCecily Faire is setting out on her own. After being disowned five years ago over a failed romance Cecily has been making a life for herself without the support of a family, but of friends who have helped to tame her impulsive character and mold her into lady. Little does she know what awaits her at her new post at Willowgrove Hall. Secrets run rampant and everyone is loathe to unveil any of them, even Cecily herself; for her own secrets could be her undoing.

The third installment of the Whispers on the Moors brings us a story of betrayal, forgiveness and the long-term effects bad decisions can have on many lives. A Lady at Willowgrove Hall wasn’t as fast-paced as book two nor quite as interesting. While just about every character did have secrets that were gradually revealed and the backstories explained I felt that the story was very slow. The writing was solid, true, but it was very descriptive – some thing a lot of people like, but I’m not very fond of. Sarah Ladd can paint a very vivid picture of the surroundings so readers will have no trouble picturing things as they happen.  In the end if you are considering this book I say go for it.

DISCLAIMER: In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising” we would like to note that we received an electronic copy of “A Lady at Willowgrove Hall”  provided by the publishers, Thomas Nelson, through Netgalley.com in exchange for our honest review.

7 thoughts on “A Lady at Willowgrove Hall

  1. Pingback: A Lady at Willowgrove Hall | Christians Anonymous

    • Not a trade secret. 😉 As you know I have a thing for English regional dialects in its many, many forms. “Reet Champion” is an expression used in parts of England (Yorkshire?) to express approval of something. While I don’t think my book reviews are written critically enough or go in depth to warrant being called “reet champion” it was too good of an expression to pass up.

      • Dahhh! I wrote this big long reply in the drop-down menu and then it was gone! It must have blown away like a tumbleweed.
        I had NO idea that you were a dialect fan like me…as far as the Breton goes, I’m really only versed in the Mancunian though the Highlands are my fave. You most certainly deserve the moniker, BTW. (1) Your prose has a concise elegance I’ll never pull off. (2) if I can call myself a French crown princess, where’s the crime in Reet? Which one of us is really suffering from the God complex here? Heee.

      • I have lost so many comments via that inept drop-down menu. When it is actually working (and not spinning/loading for ages) I refuse to use it to reply to comments as it always causes enormous regret.

        Eep! My interest is very amateurish but I’m thrilled to hear of your interest. It’s very diffiult to fathom that some people look down on the accent of others; it’s horrible to see so many accents, dialects and whole languages dying out. I’m rather partial to the Brummie accent but it’s very looked down upon. 😮

        Haha! Your majesty, I was completely unaware you suffered from the God complex. For shame! Thanks for the kind words. 🙂

What's on Your Mind?

