Love Comes Calling

Love Comes Calling

Ellis Eton is everything every girl she knows wants to be; and she has no idea why. True, she comes from a well to-do family, is continuing the family tradition of going to college and is about to be “pinned” by her childhood chum, Griff Phillips. But what is all of that when you know all you ever been is a disappointment? Ellis always tries to do her best when volunteering/being volunteered/forced to do something for other people but things just never seem to work out. But when a friend asks her to take her place at a telephone exchange Ellis knows she can’t mess up things this time. She either succeeds or her friend loses her much-needed job. And if that wasn’t enough one day Ellis accidentally overhears a conversation she shouldn’t have – and Griff’s life may be on the line.

Before actually diving in I had mixed feelings about Love Comes Calling. Months ago I had attempted to read a Siri Mitchell book but had ended up giving it up due to a very mundane plot. I didn’t even bother to flip to the end of the said book to see how it ended; I could care THAT less what happened to the characters. But then along came Love Comes Calling. Having an interest in the 1920s it seemed a shame to pass it up. And who knew? It might be better. And so I took a tentative step into the world of Ellis Eton and never looked back. I fell for the gripping plot and the lovable [and unlovable] characters.  Ms. Mitchell managed to portray both the good and the bad of a decade known for its excessive nature and rebellion. And Ellis. Poor, dear, sweet Ellis. She’s such a scatterbrain that I think many of us can empathize with her. She tries so hard to do the right things and always ends up muddling it up. With all the disappointment she causes she formulates dreams that will whisk her away and allow her to truly “live”. I wanted to reach through the pages to give her a reassuring hug and let her know everything was going to be all right. Yes, the story is that good!

It was a great experience seeing the world from Ellis point-of-view and I think it will do a lot for people who wish to broaden their outlook on other people who aren’t quite as quick to grasp things or intelligent as they are; Ellis was intelligent in her own way. Congratulations to Siri Mitchell on a job well done. I look forward to reading more by this author.

DISCLAIMER: In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising” we would like to note that we received an electronic copy of “Love Comes Calling”  provided by the publishers, Bethany House, in exchange for our honest review.

2 thoughts on “Love Comes Calling

  1. I have read a couple of Siri Mitchell’s earlier books, and I must say I really enjoyed them. The last review I read on this newest work wasn’t quite so encouraging, but then that’s the nature of art in general, it’s purely subjective. Thanks for the post. I hope you will look to review my debut novel, Charter to Redemption, and that it find’s equal favour. Regards,
    #djblackmore.com.au

    • Exactly! I had read a review of Love Comes Calling by someone with similar interests and she really disliked it (i.e. boring), but I LOVED it. Ellis’ chatty voice bring so much personality into the weaving a fun tale.

      I just looked your book up on Goodreads and must say it sounds very interesting. I will have to put it down on my to-review list.

What's on Your Mind?

