Tide and Tempest

Tide and TempestKeondric Morgan now knows that the death of one his passengers was no accident. Now it’s up to him to relocate the man’s widow and determine whether or not her life too may be at risk. Feeling duty-bound to each of his passengers Keondric seeks out the impulsive Tillie McGrath to learn some disturbing facts that do indeed place the young woman in harm’s way. Together he and his brother join Tillie to piece together a mysterious puzzle of deceit, danger and death.

Stories involving Fenians have always been of interest to me ever since I heard the Catalpa story (don’t know it? Check it out – it’s a fantastic story). When I learned of the Edge of Freedom series months ago I was so intrigued I was tempted to purchase book one. While debating that very important question for all those months along came the opportunity to read Tide and Tempest. Needless to say I jumped at it. The mouse couldn’t click quick enough. So here we are. It’s the end of the line….and sad to say I did not enjoy this book as much as I had hoped and really tried to. Ships, sailors, Irish immigration, mystery, Fenians -what more could a girl ask for? Apparently more. The story had some rip-roaring sections ranging from chases through dark alleys to deadly encounters with unidentified assailants (SPOILER ALERT: What’s up with some of the bad guys and their need to identify themselves to Keondric as they prepare to kill him just before they bite the dust?), but I really wasn’t drawn into the story. On the other hand I think I can recommend Tide and Tempest to friends with little hesitation. I know I will still be on the lookout for the first two books in the series.

DISCLAIMER: In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising” we would like to note that we received a hard copy of “Tide and Tempest”  provided by the publishers, Bathany House, in exchange for our honest review.

What's on Your Mind?

