A Captain for Laura Rose

A Captain for Laura RoseWith her father dead, her errant brother off wooing an airhead girl and her mother preferring not to worry over matters that are just about out of their control (wise woman), Laura White has a full cup of responsibility. Her troubles are compounded too when her mother and brother, the last of her family, are taken away from her. Laura must turn to a man she has never had any respect for in an effort to keep her riverboat business. When faced with overcoming the past or losing what she holds dear, Laura will have to swallow her pride as well as work around numerous obstacles that stand before her.

The fact that I was a little foggy on a lot of the details of A Captain for Laura Rose soon after finishing would seem to speak for itself. When I first began reading I skimmed, because quite frankly, it was boring. At some point I planned to actually begin “reading” because as we all know, some stories don’t get off to a roring start but that doesn’t mean the rest of the book is going to be that way. Unfortunately this was not so. I skimmed to the very last and was I ever glad when the end was reached. One of the biggest factors too in my disinterest was the lack of dialogue. People who know me know that I love dialogue, especially if it’s witty. But there wasn’t overly much interaction between characters, at least in the better part of the beginning.  There was a lot of implied actions and reminiscing, but very little that grabbed my attention.

It was an interesting idea for a book though. I can’t say that I have seen too many books that deal with women who struggled to find their place in the shipping industry. That was what led me to read this book in the first place. A few years ago I read the story about the first American woman to achieve the distinction of possessing a master mariner’s license. I thought perhaps this story might be slightly based on her story. Alas, it was a wee bit but and dried.

DISCLAIMER: In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising” we would like to note that we received an electronic copy of “A Captain for Laura Rose” from Netgalley.com provided by the publishers, FaithWords, in exchange for our honest review.

2 thoughts on “A Captain for Laura Rose

  1. I wasn’t really in the mood to read a book review however “With her father dead, her errant brother off wooing an airhead girl…” naturally demands my attention! I was bummed to hear it was a drag. I know the kind you mean; I’m in the middle of one now (yawn).

    Really well-written, I’m jealous!

    • Many thanks!

      It took ages to write this review because I kept putting it off and putting it off. Kind of like the book. Ugh. So many books out there. I need to learn to be even more selective. Tell me again why we bother to finish books we find utterly boring?! Much luck to you on yours. Maybe you luck out and it’ll pick up.

What's on Your Mind?

