The British Brides Collection

British Brides CollectionFrom the Scottish Highlands to English villages ladies from the 14th to 19th centuries will sweep readers into daring adventures. From the serf seeking to protect her father from certain death in a dungeon to the sharp-witted lassie off in pursuit of runaway sister there is never a dull moment. History enthusiasts will cry with glee, Jane Austen Fans will drool and Scotland lovers will be enthralled with a family saga.

I’m not one of those people who picks up a short story collection willingly; I don’t touch them with a ten feet pole unless they’re something like Sherlock Holmes or by L. M. Montgomery. I like stories that can engage me and something that I can think about after the book comes to a close. I want to vividly recall the emotion that coursed through me in the swashbucklers. And that isn’t something readers, at least this one, find too often in short stories. However, I’m happy to say The British Brides Collection went far and beyond my expectations. One might say it has restored my faith in modern-day short stories. There were some stories I liked better than others and others I didn’t care for at all, but when we get right down to the nitty gritty this was a nice collection. The family saga that made up the last stories was particularly appealing, especially for those who don’t want to let go of characters after 50 pages of getting to know them (which is basically what we do with short stories!).

DISCLAIMER: In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising” we would like to note that we received an electronic copy of “The British Brides Collection” from NetGalley.com provided by the publishers, Bethany House, in exchange for our honest review.

What's on Your Mind?

