Across a War-Tossed Sea

Across a War-Tossed SeaSent from Great Britain to the States for their own protection Charles and Wes Bishop are attempting to adjust to their new lifestyle in Virginia. Something that isn’t always made easy since they live in the same home as their own personal pubic enemy no. 1. Between bullying encountered from aforementioned person and prejudices outside the home, life could be more pleasant for the boys. In the course of their stay in Virginia the Bishop boys will have to learn to stand up for their beliefs and face the realities of war.

There are a number of books that have been released for juvenile readers that deal with the World War II American homefront. They were either really good or duds. Across a War-Tossed Sea fell somewhere in between. Anymore I don’t approach juvy historical fiction hopefully (there are some exceptions) so I can’t say I’m disappointed with the story. L. M. Elliot comes highly recommended and with good reason. I read two of her books some years ago and relished the story lines and rich details of history (yeah, yeah, I was another type of reader than one but certainly my tastes haven’t changed so dramatically). But Ms. Elliot’s latest lacks substance. The whole story was rather dry although the dialogue isn’t nearly as cheesy as competing books. Overall I found the story yawn-worthy. Much of the drive came from characters’ anger issues and prejudice of each other. The “British” (i.e. English) were almost too British (believe me, you’d have to read this one to understand) and there was a certain line that left me cringing over it’s “stereotypical” characteristic.

There were times when the story reminded me of Wind at My Back sans adventure. And that’s what it was seriously lacking: adventure. I understand an author’s desire to capture everyday happening in the lives of everyday people, but when I read a book I’d like to find exhilarating adventure. And we don’t really get to that until the very end of the book. So, yeah, this may be a book for some people, but not for me. It doesn’t exactly win points with me either when the child character calls another person b—–d either. Beware: there’s more language encountered.

DISCLAIMER: In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising” we would like to note that we received an electronic copy of “Across a War-Tossed Sea” from NetGalley.com provided by the publishers, Disney Book Group, in exchange for our honest review.

What's on Your Mind?

